EscambiaHFA Logo

Escambia County Housing
Finance Authority (ECHFA)

The Escambia County Housing Finance Authority was created in 1980 by the Escambia County Board of County Commissioners to help alleviate a shortage of affordable housing. The Authority is a special district in the State of Florida under Florida Statues, Chapter 159, Part IV.

The Program

This program is designed to make purchasing a home more affordable for low and moderate income homebuyers by providing homebuyers with affordable interest rate mortgage loans and down payment and closing cost assistance. Mortgage loans in this program are available on a first-come, first-serve basis.  You can download the Escambia County brochures for the 2012 Single Family (Governmental) Program or Freddie Mac HFA Advantage (Conventional) Program.


Visit for information about the program.

The Mortgage

The homebuyer may choose between a Conventional, VA-guaranteed, FHA-insured, or USDA-RD 30-year fixed rate mortgage.  Effective July 1, 2018, the first and second mortgages are exempt from documentary stamps tax.


2012 Single Family (Governmental) Program Option 5.00%*

Plus Lenders may charge a Discount or Origination Fee or any combination of the two with the total not exceeding 1.00% of the loan amount.


Freddie Mac HFA Advantage (Conventional) Program Option 5.25%*

Plus Lenders may charge an Origination Fee not exceeding 1.00% of the principal loan amount.



A mortgage credit certificate ("MCC") is available in connection with any not to exceed 30-year, fixed rate mortgage loan such as ECHFA's 2012 Single Family (Governmental) Program or Freddie Mac HFA Advantage (Conventional) Program Options.  A MCC is a Federal Tax Credit (not to exceed $2,000 per year) available each year that the borrower continues to live in the home financed under the Program.  Click MCC for more details.


*Participating Lenders will provide specific APR information as required by law.


Down Payment Assistance

The Authority offers down payment assistance (DPA) in all participating counties. DPA may provide upto 100% of the homebuyers cash to close as long as there is no cash back to borrower. 


DPA Option: 0% Non-Amortizing 30-Year Deferred Second Mortgage: The second mortgage provides up to $7,500 and can only be used with either First Mortgage type. (Second Mortgage is not forgivable and becomes due when first mortgage is satisfied or upon sale, transfer, rental or disposition of property.) The Second Mortgage is EXEMPT from Intangible Tax.

Freddie Mac Affordable Income Subsidy (AIS) Grant Program

This program may be used with the Freddie Mac HFA Advantage (Conventional) Program ONLY.  Borrowers using the Freddie Mac HFA Advantage Loan who meet specific income limits may be eligible for a grant made by Freddie Mac to help with down payment and closing costs (the “Affordable Income Subsidy Grant” or “AIS Grant”).  The income limits for the AIS Grants are determined by the county location of the home (see link).  Borrowers at or below 50% of the Area Median Income (“AMI”) Limits as published by Freddie Mac are eligible for an AIS Grant in the amount of $2,500 and borrowers above 50% of AMI but at or below 80% AMI are eligible for an AIS Grant of $1,500.  


There is no repayment of the AIS Grant – it is a grant subsidy. 


If the borrower qualifies, the borrower may receive the AIS Grant from Freddie Mac and DPA assistance and a mortgage credit certificate from the Issuer.   These subsidies are stackable.


Who Qualifies?

  1. Borrowers must be first-time homebuyers.  A first-time homebuyers is someone who has not had an ownership in a principal residence during the past three years.  Some exceptions apply.
  2. A Homeownership Education Certificate is required for at least one qualified borrower.  (Freddie Mac HFA Advantage (Conventional) Program Option only)  Click here for an option for the required homebuyer education course.
  3. Qualified Veterans or homebuyers purchasing a property in a designated targeted area do not need to be first time homebuyers.
  4. Borrowers must meet normal mortgage requirements to demonstrate credit worthiness. Borrowers must have a minimum 640 for Conventional, FHA, USA-RD and VA Loans to participate.
  5. Borrowers must occupy the purchased home as their principal residence.
  6. Household income may not exceed the following limits within Escambia County.

Maximum Income Limits

2012 Single Family (Governmental) Program Option

Family of 1-2: $65,200 (Non-Target Areas) - $78,240 (Target Areas)

Family of 3 or more: $74,980 (Non-Target Areas) - $91,280 (Target Areas)


Freddie Mac HFA Advantage (Conventional) Program Option

Family of 1-2:  $78,240

Family of 3 or more:  $91,280


Freddie Mac Affordable Income Subsidy (AIS) Grant

100% Area Median Income (AMI):  $62,000

80% AMI:  $49,600 = $1,500

50% AMI:  $31,000 = $2,500


What Homes Qualify?

The single family home may be attached or detached, a condominium, townhouse/townhome or PUD. Homes must be located within one of the counties listed on the front of this brochure. The total purchase price of a home within Escambia County may not exceed the following limits:


Maximum Purchase Price:


2012 Single Family (Governmental) Program Option:

New & Existing Homes: $271,164 (Non-Target Areas) - $331,423 (Target Areas)


Freddie Mac HFA Advantage (Conventional) Program Option

New & Existing Homes:  $271,164 (Non-Target Areas) - $331,423 (Target Areas)


How To Apply?

  1. Contact: To learn how to qualify and apply for a loan, and to obtain a preferred lender's contact info, please call us at (800) 388-1970 or Contact Us.
  2. Apply: Contact the preferred lender given by ECHFA to apply for a loan.


If you have questions please contact ECHFA at 800-388-1970 or 850-432-7077.



Contact us for more information

(800) 388-1970
For Homebuyers
For lenders
For Developers
Participating Counties
Interest Rate!

5.00% Gov't./5.25% Conv.